

Living Skies Regional Council

United Church of Canada

Service of Praise

June 16, 2024

Knox United Church

Saskatoon, SK

Prelude: Patricia Deibert

Processional Hymn: "Come All You People" MV #2

Lighting the Christ Candle; Welcome & Acknowledging the Land

Call to Worship

As we gather today to worship, we come from many places.

We come from the North, the land of where the Northern lights dance to the Spirit.

We come from the East, from which the morning sun welcomes us to the day and to listen to the winds of wisdom.

We come from the South, where the plains go on forever, and the badlands, Blue Mountains and Grasslands are all part of God's creation.

We come from the west where beautiful sunsets draw us into God's loving embrace.

We come from across this United Church of ours, bringing together God's people.

Let us worship with praise and thanksgiving.

Opening Prayer

Hymn: "It's a Song of Praise to the Maker" MV #30

Prayer of Transformation & Assurance of God's Grace

Scripture: Acts 16:16-40 "Paul & Silas in Prison"

Hear what the Spirit is saying to the church. Thanks be to God.

Special Music: joint choir, led by Mark Zielke

Sermon: The Right Reverend Dr. Carmen Lansdowne

Hymn: "We Have This Ministry" VU #510

Affirmation of Faith – A New Creed VU #918

Celebration of Ministries

Singing: "On Eagle's Wings" VU #808 Refrain only between each segment and each person

Recognition of Licensed Lay Worship Leaders – Eleanor Bowie, Carol Knoll, Anne Mathewson, Phyllis Verbeek

Recognition of Retirees – Jim Balfour, Mohandas Barnabas, Tim Ellis, Kathleen James-Cavan, Connie Sykes, Bill Unger, Jim Wolff

Admission candidate – David Mugadzi

Ordinands – Roy Bortolotto, Lynette Callfas, Sheila Deforest, Cam Fraser, Debz Ferber, Peter Gilmer, Doreen Hewitson, Gary Johnson, Lorna King, Jo Mader, Bonnie Morton, Darrell Reine, Ryan Sawchuk, John Sellwood, Gayle Wensley

Commissionand – David Whalley

Offering Statement & Prayer

Hymn: "All Who Hunger" VU #460

Communion

May the Spirit of love be with you

And may the love of Christ be with you.

Open wide your cautious hearts.

May the hope of our Creator pour peace in our souls.

Let us give thanks to the one who created this time and space.

From our joy we give God thanks and praise.

Prayer of Communion

(The bread is broken.)

Jesus Christ is the Bread of Life,

offering nourishment on the journey and strength for the way.

(The cup is Poured)

Jesus Christ is the True Vine,

offering the cup of blessing and life abundant.

These are the gifts of God, for the people of God.

Thanks be to God.

(Distribution of the Elements)

During Communion:

More Voices # 202 "Bread for the Journey"

More Voices #15 "Holy Sacred Spirit"

Voices United #466 "Eat This Bread"

Prayer after Communion

Commissioning & Blessing

Recessional Hymn: "We will go with God" MV #223

Postlude: Patricia Deibert

Participants in today's service:

Presider - Darrell Reine

Executive Minister – Shannon McCarthy

Office of Vocation Minister – Laura Fouhse

Preacher – Carmen Lansdowne

Scripture Reader – Kun Kim

Celebrants:

Past-President - Nobuko Iwai

David Mugadzi – Munyengetero Mutata, Faithful Mugadzi, Miles Russell

Roy Douglas Bortolotto – Barbara Wilkins

Lynette Edith Callfas – Brian Callfas, Anna Bibeau, Roland Callfas

Sheila Ann Deforest – Sabrina Deforest, Lydia Glawson, Marg Janick-Grayston

Past-President – Annette Taylor

Deborah-Ruth Mercedes Ferber - Nobuko Iwai, Emily Carr, Daryl Woods

J. Cameron Fraser – Cheryl, Lily, Isla and Oliver Hymus-Fraser, Mary Fraser

Doreen Elizabeth Hewitson - Dave Hewitson, Mervin Hanson, Wayne Sinclair

Gary Lloyd Johnson – Verna Kocski, Tim Ellis

Lorna Elizabeth King – Dale Worrall, Deb Anderson-Pratt, Cindy Goodman

Past-President – Daryl Woods

Josephine E. Mader – Kimber Mader, Barbara Mader, Llyle Mader

Peter James Gilmer - Karen Lumley, Debbie McGraw, Darrell Reine

Bonnie Ruth Morton – Karen Lumley, Debbie McGraw, Darrell Reine

Darrell Reine – Karen Reine, Dexter van Dyke

Past-President – Miles Russell

Ryan N. Sawchuk – Patti Sawchuk, David Sawchuk, Andrew Appledore

John R. Sellwood – Greg Coutts, Adele Coutts, Jeff Jones

Gayle Wensley – Jesse Wensley

James "David" Whalley - Leslee Whalley, Ryan Whalley, Dorothy Kuxhaus

Musicians – Patricia Deibert (prelude and postlude), Mark Zielke, joint choir

Communion servers:

Diane Bosman, Jordan Cantwell, Sheila Deforest, Tim Ellis, Deborah Ferber, Laura Fouhse, Kathleen James-Cavan, Jennifer Janzen-Ball, Carmen Lansdowne, Shannon McCarthy, Kent Mohn, David Mugadzi, Vicki Nelson, Ryan Sawchuk

Acknowledgements:

Communion Liturgy (c) Rev. Michelle L. Torigian 2022 United Church of Christ

One License: #A-737214

Hospitality – Kent Mohn (minister), Knox host team, Anne Mathewson and area churches